Living Without Plastic: A Gamer Without Games

Posted: November 6, 2012 in In My Life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Being a gamer is hard when you can’t buy products containing plastic.

Especially around the holiday season, when all the AAA game titles are coming out.

A few weeks ago, before I pledged off buying plastic products, I pre-ordered Assassin’s Creed 3—the game I was most looking forward to this season. And it’s a good thing to, because if I had waited until after pledging off plastic, I would have been S.O.L.

Why? Because even with this “Internet” thing, and the whole “digital gaming revolution,” we’re still stuck with little plastic discs in little plastic boxes wrapped in annoying crinkly plastic wrap. The reason? Target and Walmart say so. Microsoft, Sony, EA, Activision, and all the game studios would probably love to distribute more of their AAA titles, such as Halo 4 and Assassin’s Creed 3 through digital stores, a la Valve’s computer-only service, Steam. But if they started doing that, Gamestop would cease to exist and sales of games at the big box stores would sink.

The one consolation I can take is that those plastic boxes and plastic discs aren’t ending up in landfills. We gamers like to hoard our games (or trade them in for more games).

And so we’re stuck with little plastic boxes. And I’m stuck without any new big-name game titles. I’ll make the best of it, though. With so many good digitally distributed games out there, do I really need to fill my shelf with another plastic box?

Instead, it’ll be the Steam store and the X-Box Live Arcade marketplace for me this holiday season. The more games we buy there, the more incentive the game studios and game distributors will have to give the middle finger to

So, have any recommendations?

Related Articles

Comments
  1. Kittychix says:

    Can you *borrow* a game from someone else? :P

What do you think?

